Combines 78 l2

GaryD

If I'm wrong I bet I'll hear about it but that's O.K. I really enjoy this site and this is my first attempt at a post. On changing the cleaning shoe, first remove the grain pan under the walkers, 2 guys, 30 minutes. Next take out the chaffer and sieve, those rascals have some iron in their frames. One guy 10 minutes. Next undo cleaning shoe hangars and lift it out. 2 guys 20 minutes. Probably time to replace all the rubber bushings in grain pan and shoe. Gleaner is really getting proud of those things. Anyone know of a more economical_better solution to them. Replace in reverse order, tighten everything concerning the rubber bushings up in the mid-stroke position of the grain pan and cleaning shoe. It always takes me at least twice as long to replace as remove anything so my estimate is 3-4 hrs total. Before anyone comments on how slow I am, I'll just say I like to take time to enjoy my work, as long as it's in the shed and not in the middle of a field. I wonder if you really need the long shoe unless your short shoe is busted up or someone just wants to give you a long one. If the thresher is doing a good job maybe you don't need the long one. I hope someone will have some thoughts on that. Have seen the hill side blowers but haven't used one, sure a Rube Goldberg looking contraption but maybe they are O.K. Not very much wheat planted in my part of S.E. Ks. due to very wet fall, but what little I've seen looks decent.

tbran