Trucks & Trailers 13 speed vs 10 vs 15 vs 18 ????

Auctionguyyy

Everybody seems to have a preference for transmissions. Which one is most popular and which do you prefer?

sunnieday

Automatics are close to Idiot proof, but are slow to get going.

I tried one and it took so long to really get moving it would be no good for crossing a highway from a standing start in heavy traffic

Locksmith

Locksmith

Farm Hand
If you live or drive in mostly mountainous conditions, a 13 gear is what you want. If you're still new, start there and work your way up to 18. Keep in mind that you don't need 18 gears to get you through Nebraska, but they come in handy in Idaho during January.

Most companies these days, from what I hear, train with a 9 speed.

Kyle M

Kyle M

Farm Hand
All I have is a Dodge Ram and that's all I need for now. I studied up on this when I was younger and wanted to long haul, but I chose a different career. You wonder how things would have went if you chose a different career, you know?

MoparSparko

MoparSparko

Farm Hand
The industry seems to be going with auto-shift, which is not fully automatic. Before this became popular, the industry was mostly 10's, super 10's and 9 speeds. I prefer a 13 speed over anyting, but an 18 can be nice to have for the bottom low side.

Breadtrk

Breadtrk

Farm Hand