Combines front feeder chain

Jeremy

We weren't impressed with aftermarket chains we tried in one of the N6's during harvest. I can't recall the brand, but the AGCO chain_bars were much more aggressive at feeding. The aftermarket setup just didn't yank the crop in like it should have.

Tom_Russell

I have no experience with comparing chain but I would offer this bit of advice. Make sure all mounting hardware is loose before installing the chain and dont tighten until after you roll the chain a few revolutions. This allows the chain to fit your machine better and will reduce jumping off sprockets later. Tom in MN

t_leslie

make sure comparing apples to apples......AGCO has gone to a ca557 chain...the old one was a ca550 chain,,,,,the ca557 is much heaver.. just ask you agco dealer for ca550 conector and a ca557 connector and you will agree it is alot heaver chain......I don't think you can buy a ca550 assy from agco any more...all the part n's superced to the ca557...however you can buy just the ca 550 chain an put you slats on it, it comes ready to bolt on..... most of the after market people are selling ca550 chains and most are imports at that so you can see why they are so cheap......you'll have to decide if the ca557 is worth the extra$$$..I think they went to ca557 becasue all the custom harvesters wanted a chain that would last 100 years or something like that.....

RADA

Spending the extra money now will be well worth it in the long run. Tleslie is correct that the lighter duty chain is no longer available from AGCO. Our exprience with the heavier chain is very positive, the crop does seem to feed better and the wear is much better than with the lighter duty chains. Todd

The_Red

I finally caught up on your excellent commentary and the great digital pictures. That hilly scenery is spectacular! Between the two combines, how many acres of wheat did you cutIJ

Dan