Canadian pork producers name new chief


Junior Member
The membership of Canada?s national hog industry association has named its first vice-president, Quebec hog producer Jean-Guy Vincent, as its new chairman.

The Canadian Pork Council last week elected Vincent, a producer from Ste-Seraphine, about 30 km east of Drummondville, as its chair for the upcoming year.

Vincent, who represents the Federation des producteurs de porcs du Quebec (FPPQ) on the CPC?s board and executive committee, is replaced as first vice-president by Rick Bergmann, a producer from Steinbach, Man. and vice-chair of the Manitoba Pork Council.

The CPC?s new second vice-president is Florian Possberg of Humboldt, Sask., representing Sask Pork.

As council chairman, Vincent replaces Mayerthorpe, Alta. hog producer Jurgen Preugschas, who had chaired the national body since July 2008.

The CPC acts as the national voice for the hog sector, representing Canada?s nine provincial producer associations, which together include about 12,000 producers, sharing about $3.3 billion in farm cash receipts in 2010.

Vincent comes to the CPC chairmanship as the hog sector emerges from "the most challenging period in its history," the council said in its release.