Combines Off topic 7000 series powershift cross compatability

MN_Dean

I am far from an expert but.. You could look up the two on the agco parts site and compare them. One thing that was an issue on the 7000 series and was resolved in the 8000s, a clutch drum was bolted to a gear in the trans. The bolts would shear off and you would loose several gears. later ones had larger bolts. The 7020 would have a 2 pinion differential where the 7060 would have a 4 pinion diff. but I am not sure if the trans has any differences. The shift valve is different because of age but works the same.

MN_Dean

If this one doesn't work type it in yourself. www.agcopartsbooks.com_EpsilonWeb_login.aspxIJregion=NorthAmerica

tbran

unless the trany has been hot - black belly trans are super reliable. They will switch as all housings are the same 7010-8070 as to interchange. Most problems are from dirty oil sticking shift valves. Switch trannys and check flow of gerotor pump. 7020 hyd pump might be higher flow due to less wear.

peteguy

Well, after much appreciated quick and informative comments by you two, I am now wondering just how far gone our 7060 PS unit is. tbran, in your experience, is the issue that MN Dean described concerning the clutch drum bolts shearing a very possible diagnosis for oursIJ Would it help the diagnosis if I new what gears and range functionedIJ I do believe we have no low range, and have three gears in high range, but it has sat for a while and I am foggy on the knowledge. the tractor was a loader tractor for a cowboy, so abuse will not be ruled out. we are now tracking down the local scrap guy, as he had a 7060 black belly with a good cab, so we may end up fixing both old girls back up, rather than junking the 7020, as the big chassis and little engine are kind of desireable for our uses. Any more info on running design changes and updates on the 7K-8K series Powershift would be much appreciated. thanks in advance!

MN_Dean