Combines SUNFlOWER QUESTIONS

Unit_2

TlC Farms, I have limited experience with sunflowers but lets see if the guys that have a lot of experience agree with me. Harvesting sunflowers takes a fraction of the power that corn or beans take. I use a Deere row head. It works good. There is a company that makes sunflower gaurds for a rigid header that are similar to the new plastic milo gaurds. Here in Central Kansas double crop no till into wheat stubble works good especially under irrigation. K.A

GREENGO

1.Horsepower requirements are minimal much less than corn or beans 2.I much prefer to harvest with row head,for ease of harvesting also stalk hight,had trouble with pans plugging,also used a raymac head here in central Ks,worked very well escpecially for taking only the head and no stalk when the stalk is too green and get trash in the bin with row head but after frost I WOUlD DEFINETlY USE row head. 3.Have seen some doble crop do good some poor,unable to give real good advice on this one 4.We have a couple adapters could sell,Idon't think they are bish,probably home built but worked for many years.

Clay

We also use JD row crop heads on our Gleaner combines. They are definitely the way to go with sunflowers. Just make sure you compare gathering belts to new ones--otherwise it is hard to know how much the rubber has worn, and sf wears the belts faster than a lot of other crops. -ctm

Sando

Greengo, I have a raymac but am thinking about a JD row head for use on short corn (30-50bu)and milo. Could you make a few comments on the upkeep and performance of the two machines. Feel free to email if you like. Thanks, Sando

meadowgreen